Internet Win of the Day Tournament: Semis

UPDATE: Final 4 voting has closed, and the championship matchup is set. It will be top-seed @fuggirls, who cruised to a 14-3 victory in their semifinal, taking on No. 6 @ScrewyDecimal, who hung on for a 9-7 win to advance to the title tilt.

Come back this Monday, July 15, when voting for the championship round will open.

I’ve been doing this Internet Win of the Day thing for a while now, so I thought it was high time we bracket-ize it.

What we have below is the 10 people (represented by their Twitter handles) who have won the Internet most often since I started doing an Internet Win of the Day back in October seeded into an NCAA tournament-style bracket. I call it the Internet Win of the Day Summer Madness Tournament of Champions I because I’m hoping sounding redundantly grandiose makes up for the underwhelming graphic.

Round 1 and Round 2 are now officially in the books, and we have ourselves something of a Cinderella storyline. For out of the top four seeds, only the No. 1, @fuggirls, is still alive.

Heather and Jessica, the ladies behind that handle, put together what was by far the most-dominating performance in Round 2, beating 10-seed @mikescollins 35-8. However, everyone else who remains in the field—5. @nprmonkeysee, 6. @ScrewyDecimal, and 8. @LucyACarson—won by at least eight votes, so (in not-very-good-sportscaster voice) it’s anybody’s game.

Oh, and for any of the bozos out there who have tried to claim women aren’t as funny as men, this final four has got to hurt:

Internet Win of the Day Summer Madness Tournament of Champions I bracket

PDF of the Internet Win of the Day Summer Madness Tournament of Champions I bracket

How It Works

For the last couple of weeks, rather than handing out a new win Monday–Thursday, I’ve been presenting you, my fabulous readers, with some matchups that pit the best of the best against each other. I selected one previous win from each contestant (which may actually be someone else’s work that that contestant retweeted into my timeline) as her/his entry into the competition, but you are the ones who determine the winner of every matchup (and ultimately, the champion) via your votes in the polls in the post.

And now there are four:

Top Region:

1. @fuggirls VS 5. @nprmonkeysee

Bottom Region:

6. @ScrewyDecimal VS 8. @LucyACarson

Polls will be open until whenever I take them down (probably around 10:00 a.m. Eastern this Friday), so please please please vote for your favorites and, if you haven’t already, go find these folks on Twitter because they’re all great.

May the best Tweeter win—absolutely nothing, other than bragging rights. You should see our budget here. It’s brutal.

1. @fuggirls

5. @nprmonkeysee

*Note: @nprmonkeysee’s entry is not the tweet but the story it links to.

6. @ScrewyDecimal

8. @LucyACarson

One comment

  1. Pingback: Internet Win of the Day Tournament: Final | Ted Fox is Awesome

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s